Annual Awards

Alumni Association Awards


Founders Day is held annually each year in February. We present five outstanding individuals with the highest honors the Alumni Association bestows, the distinguished and Honorary Alumni awards.

Meet our 2014 Founders Day recipients here.

Distinguished Alumni
   Kem Gardner
   Ted and Charlotte Jacobsen
   Frederick Kempe
   Don Yacktman

Honorary Alumnus
   John Bloomberg

Distinguished Alumni Award
This honor is presented to four to five alumni who carry the University of Utah tradition of excellence through extraordinary achievement and exceptional service.

Nomination form for Distinguished Alumnus/a Award 2015 available here.

Honorary Alumnus/a Award
This honor is given to an individual who either did not attend the University of Utah or who went to the University for a brief time (a year or less) and who has contributed significantly to the advancement of the University through personal involvement, including donations, volunteer work or other forms of support.

Nomination form for Honorary Alumnus/a Award 2015 available here.

List of past Founders Day Award recipients.

Since 1971, more than 500 former University of Utah students have received the prestigious Merit of Honor Award from the Emeritus Alumni Board of the University of Utah Alumni Association. This recognition is for students who attended the University 40 or more years ago (or who are age 65 or better) and who have given distinguished service to their profession, the University and/or the nation. The Alumni Association honors the Merit of Honor awardees each year at the Merit of Honor Banquet.

Meet our 2014 Merit of Honor recipients here.

   Jeffrey L. Anderson BA'68
   Ronald G. Coleman BS'66
   Ron Henriksen BA'71
   Betsy Ross Young Newton BS'46
   John C. Pingree BS'64
   Heidi Sorensen Swinton BA'71

Merit of Honor Banquet - Nov. 5, 2014

Don't miss the November 5 banquet to honor these accomplished U alumni. Register now to attend.

List of past Merit of Honor recipients.


Each spring, the Alumni Association and its Young Alumni Board (YAB) have the pleasure of honoring an alumnus/a who attended the University of Utah within the last 15 years with our Par Excellence Award. The award is presented on the basis of the recipient’s outstanding professional achievements and contribution to the betterment of society.

Philip and Miriam Perlman Award
The Alumni Association also recognizes a faculty or staff member with the Philip and Miriam Perlman Excellence in Student Counseling Award for his/her dedication to students in helping them steer a successful course through their studies at the University.

Nomination for the 2015 Perlman Award available here.

List of past Perlman recipients here.

Nomination form for the 2015 Par Excellence Award available here.

List of past Par Excellence recipients here.

In addition, Alumni scholars are recognized during the 2014 Spring Awards Banquet:

Meet Ryan Watts ’00, our 2014 Par Excellence recipient here.

Ryan Watts video

Meet Carrie Labrum Radmall BS’02, our 2014 Perlman Award winner here.