Beehive Honor Society

The Beehive Honor Society was founded at the University of Utah in 1913 for the purpose of honoring graduating seniors who have demonstrated leadership, scholarship and service to the University and the community. On average, one in 1,000 students at the University of Utah is inducted into the Beehive Honor Society. Among the societys 1,200-plus members and 20 honorary members are prominent leaders in medicine, academe, business, politics and the arts. Sponsored by the University of Utah Alumni Association, the society is the oldest local honor society on the University of Utah campus and is directed by a 10-member board. Click here to view a complete list of Beehive Honor Society members (1913-2015).


Student Applications

Applications available for download

Student Scholarship

Applications available for download

Beehive Activities

Scholarship Walkway

Purchase a brick on the Alumni Association Scholarship Walkway as a tax-deductible donation to the Beehive Scholarship Fund. Details...


Support the Beehive Honor Society by making a charitable donation here.


Become part of the Beehive Honor Society conversation by joining us on Facebook.

Beehive Honor Society Class of 2015

Oliver Gabe Anderson
Colette Ankenman
Leslie Cepeda
Peter Creveling
Derek Deitsch
Florence Fernandez
Charles R. Foote
Rebecca Fotheringham
Lindsay Karen Gilson

Kedahl L. Melvin
Vishnu Sanketh Ronda Reddy
Alexandria Sadler
Carine Stearman
Tianna Tu
Max Karl Wood
Taryn Young

Beehive Scholars, 2015-16

Beehive Undergraduate – Justin Spangler
Beehive Legacy – Virginia Hill

Beehive Board Membership

The Beehive Board is responsible for selecting new inductees and scholarship recipients, securing funds for scholarships and raising student awareness of the merits of membership in the society. Each year, one to three members are replaced on the Beehive Honor Society Board. All members in the society are encouraged to get involved in Beehive activities and to consider becoming a member of the board.

Beehive Board nomination/application forms are available here.

Beehive Board of Directors

Gail Ellison BA'12

Vice President
Sammy Fan BS'02 MAcc'05

Board Members
Dan Anderson BA’99 BA'00
Weston Boyack BA'02 MBA'09
Kiffer Creveling BS'13
Brian Davis BS'07
Derek Deitsch BA'15
Erika Hill BS'07 MEd'13
Laura King BS'06 MBA'09
Terry Lloyd BA'81 MBA'82
Steve Smith BS'05 PMBA'09

Scholarship Donors

Martha H. Ball ’61
Troy J. Bengtzen
David P. Bonnemort ’07
Ryan Boyack
Wallace Boyack
Josh and Sarah Bradley
Dr. Burton F. Brasher ’43
Connie D. Cannon ’67
James E. Cannon ’68
Sterling Colton ’51
Melyssa Davidson ’92
Nancy Denhalter Cropper ’66
Robert D. Dennis ’74
Deanne Simmons Evans ’63
Dr. Stephen T. Evans ’68
Dale Hagemeyer ’85
LaNae B. Heusser ’94
Catherine McKay Iba ’59
P. David Jensen ’63
Patricia D. Judkins ’66
Jeff Judkins ’78
Jennifer S. Kleinman ’92
Kay W. Lipman ’62
Alan Matheson ’53
Bunny McCoun ’56
Jerilyn McIntyre, Honorary
JoAnn E. Miller ’68
Kraig P. Moyes ’98
Amy Richins Oliver ’95
Lisa O. Pace ’88
Lynn H. Pace ’84
Fredrick (Toby) Pingree ’53
Jessica Pohlman ’03
Beth W. Rallison ’45
Cherry M. Ridges ’87
Ross Romero ’89
Rocco C. Siciliano ’44
W. David Smith ’66
Damond Watkins ’98
Christine Wonnacott ’72

Make a tax-deductible donation to the Beehive Honor Society Scholarship Fund.

History of the Beehive Honor Society

In 1913, Otlinger Romney, editor of The Utah Chronicle, and Hamilton Gardner, Student Body President, created The Beehive Club— “a Senior Society organized with novel aims and purpose.” 

Originally announced in The Utah Chronicle on February 17, 1913, the Beehive was designed to “furnish a reward to those students who put ambition, concentration, and perspiration into student activities.”

Inductees were to be chosen by their predecessors at the end of their junior year. Selection was based purely on participation in activities. A scale was initially established assigning points for a variety of activities. For example, members of the football team received 30 points, and members of the baseball, basketball, and track teams received 20 points. Meanwhile, Varsity Debate team members received 40 points and the ASUU president received 30 points. The idea was to encourage members to participate in multiple activities and accrue as many points as possible. This is showcased well by one of the inaugural Beehive inductees, M. Alonzo Romney. Mr. Romney received points for participating in football, basketball, baseball, and Prom Committee, and serving as the associate editor of the Chronicle, on the ASUU Executive Board, and as senior class president.

At the end of the junior year, the points collected during the previous three years were totaled. From the 10 highest point values, seven were selected. These seven inductees were announced at the Annual Awards Day.

According to the original announcement, the “organization is to be social only in an incidental way. Its fundamental purpose is serious—that of fostering interest in student activities. This seriousness, however, will not preclude a novel initiation.”

The original membership of the Beehive was restricted to only seven seniors per year—six men and one woman. In 1917, the editor of the Chronicle speculated that “the reason for the unbalanced personnel of the club, with regard to the number of males and females comprising it, is likely due to the fact that there are more activities open to men than to women.”

In 1916, ASUU changed the point system to be more inclusive of the available activities on campus and placed an emphasis on scholastic achievements. It was also decided that the ASUU Board should choose the inductees. This meant that student body president, who was chairman of the selection committee, was precluded from induction into the Beehive Club.

Originally conceived as a reward for those who actively participate in activities across the University, by 1917, The Beehive Club became the “highest honor that can be conferred upon a student at the University.” Eventually, inductee selection would be transitioned over to the Beehive Honor Society Board of Directors, who still chose students based on academic success, leadership, and service to the University. Although the selection process and the number of students honored each year has changed, the intent of the organization remains the same —to reward students who put ambition, concentration and perspiration into student activities. To date, the Beehive Honor Society has inducted roughly 1,300 seniors and 21 honorary members and is recognized as the oldest and most prestigious award at the University of Utah.