The Beehive Honor Society was founded at the University of Utah in 1913 for the purpose of honoring graduating seniors who have demonstrated leadership, scholarship and service to the University and the community. On average, one in 1,000 students at the University of Utah is inducted into the Beehive Honor Society. Among the societys 1,200-plus members and 20 honorary members are prominent leaders in medicine, academe, business, politics and the arts. Sponsored by the University of Utah Alumni Association, the society is the oldest local honor society on the University of Utah campus and is directed by a committee. Click here to view a complete list of Beehive Honor Society members (1913-2016).


Student Applications

Applications are due February 17, 2017

Student Scholarship

Applications are due February 3, 2017

Beehive Activities

Scholarship Walkway

Purchase a brick on the Alumni Association Scholarship Walkway as a tax-deductible donation to the Beehive Scholarship Fund. Details...


Support the Beehive Honor Society by making a charitable donation here.


Become part of the Beehive Honor Society conversation by joining us on Facebook.

Beehive Honor Society Class of 2016

Madison Taylor Black
Cynthia Chen
Taylor Dalebout
Lacey Despain
Meg Garfield
Lisa R. Hawkins
Kaitie Jowers
Matthew Kirkegaard
Lexie Maschoff

John W. Muhs
Mary Catherine Neville
Justin Ray Spangler
Sarah Jane Spangler
MacLane W. Taggart
Ryan Wadge
Rudi Zurbuchen

Beehive Scholars, 2016-17

Beehive Undergraduate – Madeline Rencher
Beehive Legacy – Taryn Young

Beehive Committee Membership

The Beehive Board is responsible for selecting new inductees and scholarship recipients, securing funds for scholarships and raising student awareness of the merits of membership in the society. Each year, one to three members are replaced on the Beehive Honor Society Board. All members in the society are encouraged to get involved in Beehive activities and to consider becoming a member of the board.

Apply for the Beehive Honor Society Committee 

Beehive Committee Members 

Sammy Fan BS'02 MAcc'05

Committee Members
Dan Anderson BA’99 BA'00
Weston Boyack BA'02 MBA'09
Brian Davis BS'07
Derek Deitsch BA'15
Erika Hill BS'07 MEd'13
Terry Lloyd BA'81 MBA'82
Steve Smith BS'05 PMBA'09

Scholarship Donors

Martha H. Ball ’61
Troy J. Bengtzen
David P. Bonnemort ’07
Ryan Boyack
Wallace Boyack
Josh and Sarah Bradley
Dr. Burton F. Brasher ’43
Connie D. Cannon ’67
James E. Cannon ’68
Sterling Colton ’51
Melyssa Davidson ’92
Nancy Denhalter Cropper ’66
Robert D. Dennis ’74
Deanne Simmons Evans ’63
Dr. Stephen T. Evans ’68
Dale Hagemeyer ’85
LaNae B. Heusser ’94
Catherine McKay Iba ’59
P. David Jensen ’63
Patricia D. Judkins ’66
Jeff Judkins ’78
Jennifer S. Kleinman ’92
Kay W. Lipman ’62
Alan Matheson ’53
Bunny McCoun ’56
Jerilyn McIntyre, Honorary
JoAnn E. Miller ’68
Kraig P. Moyes ’98
Amy Richins Oliver ’95
Lisa O. Pace ’88
Lynn H. Pace ’84
Fredrick (Toby) Pingree ’53
Jessica Pohlman ’03
Beth W. Rallison ’45
Cherry M. Ridges ’87
Ross Romero ’89
Rocco C. Siciliano ’44
W. David Smith ’66
Damond Watkins ’98
Christine Wonnacott ’72

Make a tax-deductible donation to the Beehive Honor Society Scholarship Fund.

BHS Induction Ceremony: March 30

The Beehive Honor Society Induction Ceremony took place March 30 at the University of Utah Alumni House. The 16 inductees were joined by faculty, family, friends, previous Beehive Honor Society inductees—including University of Utah President David Pershing. After a lovely reception, guests gathered to hear Kevin Pearson, LDS General Authority and former CEO of Ingenix, talk about the importance of education and relationships, as well as the significance of discovering your passion.

"Passionate people make things happen," Pearson said.

Each inductee was presented with a certificate, and their notable accomplishments were acknowledged. We warmly welcome the Beehive Honor Society Class of 2016 and look forward to celebrating their future successes!

Click here for more information about each member.

Premier Partners

Become a Sponsor
U Health
Red Zone - University of Utah Campus Store
U Health Plans
University Credit Union